Room 11, GASP! Stage 2, Glenorchy
photo Ben Hoskings

What's on

around the country


Tasmanian events, awards & prizes

The Tasmanian Chapter's awards, events and prizes program features many highlights of the state's architectural calendar, such as the Tasmanian Architecture Awards (including the annual People's Choice Prize), Emerging Architect Prize, SWT Blythe Student Prize and Open House Hobart. Our numerous Continuing Professional Development (CPD) seminars are listed on our CPD page.

2018 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

The annual Tasmanian Architecture Awards are presented by the Tasmanian Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects and provide opportunities for public and peer recognition of the state's achievements in architecture. Winners of awards and named awards are considered in the Australian Institute of Architects' National Architecture Awards.

Key dates are as follows:

1 December 2017: entries open
2 March 2018: entries close
24 March: presentations to the jury
27-28 April: jury visits
25 May: exhibition of entries in northern Tasmania
22 June: exhibition of entries in southern Tasmania
7 July: awards presentation
30 July: people's choice prize announced

Commercial Architecture
The Colin Philp Award is the state's highest award for commercial architecture. Colin Philp was particularly active during the 1930s and designed some of the earliest Modern architecture in Tasmania. His notable buildings include Alfred Harrop & Sons, Launceston (1931); Duncan House, Launceston (1934); and Sunray Flats, Hobart (1938).

2017 Award: Shambles Brewery, Room11
2017 Award: Launceston Airport Retail Transformation, The Buchan Group

Educational Architecture
The Sydney Blythe Award for Education Architecture is the state's highest award for educational architecture. Blythe was an architect and town planner who worked for Tasmania's Public Works Department throughout the 1920s, 30s and 40s. He was responsible for numerous government buildings including schools, technical colleges, hospitals, railway stations and law courts in most centres throughout Tasmania. The A. G. Ogilvie High School (1936) at New Town is regarded as his masterpiece.

2017 Sydney Blythe Award: Lady Gowrie Integrated Centre for Children & Families, Cumulus Studio 
2017 Commendation: Lauderdale Primary School - Kinder and Classroom Addition, Preston Lane

Heritage Architecture
The Roy Sharrington Smith Award is the state's highest award for heritage architecture. Roy Sharrington Smith's career spanned the Arts and Crafts, Art Deco and Modernist eras, and he was an early advocate for heritage conservation in Tasmania. He was assistant architect to the Federal Capital Commission 1925–30 and began practising in Launceston in 1932, where his landmark buildings include Holyman House (1936) and the Launceston Gas Company (1940). He was instrumental in the formation of the Royal Australian Institute of Architects as well as the National Trust of Australia.

2017 Roy Sharrington Smith Award: Captain Kelly's Cottage, John Wardle Architects

Interior Architecture
The Alexander North Award is the state's highest award for interior architecture. The state’s highest award for interior architecture is named for Alexander North. A renowned church architect, North brought together Gothic and Arts and Crafts styles. He was also instrumental in the formation of the Tasmanian Association of Architects in 1905 – the precursor to today’s Institute of Architects – and a pioneer of concrete architecture. His landmark buildings include Launceston Post Office (1886), Holy Trinity (1888–1902) and St John’s (1901–38), all in Launceston.

2017 Alexander North Award: Captain Kelly's Cottage, John Wardle Architects
2017 Commendation: St Albi, Cykel Architecture

Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions)
The Edith Emery Award is the state's highest award for residential architecture (alterations and additions). Edith Emery trained and worked as a doctor before fleeing the Nazi regime and eventually settled in Tasmania after World War II. Her medical degree wasn’t recognised in Australia, so she studied architecture for six and a half years, mainly at night, while raising her family. She described architecture as an ‘exciting mixture of the creative and the practical, of imagination and science’. 

2017 Edith Emery Award: Longview Ave Garden Room, Taylor & Hinds 
2017 Commendation: The Minallo Residence, JAWSARCHITECTS

Residential Architecture – Houses (New)
The Esmond Dorney Award is the state's highest award for new residential architecture. Esmond Dorney began practising architecture in Melbourne in the 1930s, where he worked with Walter Burley Griffin and Marion Mahony. He moved to Hobart in 1949, where he explored space, light and the use of economical materials, often in curved forms. His landmark buildings include Pius X Catholic Church (1958) and his own home at Fort Nelson (rebuilt twice; 1978). 

2017 Esmond Dorney Award: Cross House, Taylor & Hinds
2017 Award: River's Edge House, Stuart Tanner Architects
2017 Award: D'Entrecasteaux House, Room11
2017 Award: Sunnybanks House, Core Collective Architects
2017 Commendation: Nelson House, Room11

Small Project Architecture
The Peter Willmott Award is the state's highest award for Small Project Architecture. Wilmott studied at Hobart Technical College between 1964 and 1973, and throughout his career revelled in a minimalist approach that often extended to a project’s size and budget. His works include the refurbishments of City Hall (1970s) and Police Citizens and Youth Club (1980s), Hobart and numerous small homes in Southern Tasmania.

2017 Peter Willmott Award: Milkman's Cottage, Preston Lane
2017 Commendation: Princes Park Toilets, Terroir

Sustainable Architecture
The Barry McNeill Award for Sustainable Architecture is the state's highest award for sustainable architecture. McNeill was made director of the Department of Environmental Design in 1969 and was a formative influence in the teaching of architecture in Tasmania, particularly through self-directed and project-based learning, and learning by making. He was a staunch advocate for embedded sustainability in Tasmanian architecture. 

2017 Barry McNeill Award: Shambles Brewery, Room11
2017 Award: Sunnybanks House, Core Collective Architects

COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture
This award is conferred annually by our major corporate partners Bluescope and acknowledges the innovative use of steel in architecture.

2017 Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture: Sunnybanks House, Core Collective Architects

Additional Prizes
Henry Hunter Triennial Prize for Heritage Architecture: #thebarntas, workbylizandalex 
2017 President’s Prize: Karen Davis
2017 Emerging Architect Prize: Thomas Bailey
2017 SWT Blythe Student Prize: Maximilian Cooke 
2017 People’s Choice Prize: Launcestion Sub-station, S. Group

Tasmanian Architecture Awards Archives
Please see below for a collection of Tasmanian Architecture Awards magazines:

Online awards entry system

Members may enter the Architecture Awards via our online awards entry system.

For support and assistance with the use of this system please contact the Awards Team on or (02) 6121 2000.