What's on

in South Australia

23 Oct
SA Chapter offices open L2, 15 Leigh St

23 Nov 2017
AWS Co-opertition Seminar - Promoting SA's Architecture



The City of Adelaide Prize

Established in 1997, the City of Adelaide Prize is a state category within the prestigious South Australian Architecture Awards Program.

The Adelaide City Council and the Australian Institute of Architects are working together to support the enhancement of the public experience of the City as South Australia’s Capital City.

The Prize  recognises and awards innovative projects, including buildings, landscapes and open spaces, street and laneway activation, public art installations and temporary urban experiments; that activate and enliven the City’s public spaces and engage with the community.

In presenting the Prize, the Council aims to:

  • provide leadership in the design of the public realm;
  • highlight the role of design in the creation of successful public places; and
  • promote good design to the broader community.
This year's winner of the City of Adelaide Prize is the Anzac Centenary Memorial Walk by Grieve Gillett Andersen.

 City of Adelaide Prize - Anzac Centenary Memorial 
Walk by Grieve Gillett Andersen with Tract Consulting

 City of Adelaide Prize - Commendation
Rundle Mall Redevelopment by Hassell
City of Adelaide Prize - Commendation
Peter Rabbit by James McIntyre           

People's Choice voting, presented by The Adelaide Review 

The City of Adelaide Prize nominees showcase design outcomes that celebrate positive experiences and activation of places within Adelaide. Presented by the Adelaide City Council since 1997, the Prize recognises projects that enliven the City, engage with the community and make it a great place to live, work and play.

The Prize is proudly presented in partnership with The Adelaide Review, and supported by our partners AILA, PIA and Guildhouse.  This year's winner of the People's Choice Award is the Anzac Centenary Memorial Walk with over 4,000 votes.

2017 Entries

Jury Members

The City of Adelaide Prize Jury consists of representative members from each of the Prize Partners, Australian Institute of Architects, Adelaide City Council, Australian Institute of Landscape Architects, Guildhouse and the Planning Institute of Australia.

Presented by

Prize Partners