New Acton South, Fender Katsalidis

New Acton South, Fender Katsalidis
photo John Gollings

What's On in ACT

ACT Architecture Awards 2019
6:30pm, Saturday 15 June
National Museum of Australia




2019 ACT Chapter Events 

If you would like to receive our weekly "What's On" email, please click HERE


Big Ideas: Untold Stories 2019

Join us for the live recording of ABC Radio National's Big Ideas program with Paul Barclay. Hear Ric Thorp AM, New Parliament House Architect of Mitchell Giurgola Thorp, share his untold stories about its design and construction. Along with journalist Helen Pitt who won a Walkley Award in 2018 for her book ‘The House’ which details what went on behind the scenes in building the Opera House.

Tickets available HERE

What:      Big Ideas - Untold Stories: New Parliament House + Sydney Opera House
When:     Monday 25 March 2019 
                5pm - 7.30pm
Where:    The Common Room, University House
                The Australian National University
                Liversidge Street, Acton 2601
Cost:       General Admission $20
                Institute Members $15
                SONA & EmAGN Members $10

This event is supported by the Alastair Swayn Foundation. 

The Griffin Lecture - 2018

Australian comedian, radio host & television presenter, Tim Ross will give the 2018 Griffin Lecture titled ‘Pick a Town and Break it Down’. Tim states his case for the protection of our architecture of the mid 20thcentury and will valiantly try to explain the Australian obsession with obliterating the past.

Institute members can book their tickets HERE 

What:      2018 Griffin Lecture presented by Tim Ross
When:     Wednesday 7 November 
                Arrive from 11:30am,  Lunch at 12.00 pm,                                              Lecture 12:30 - 1:30pm
Where:    National Press Club of Australia,
                16 National Circuit, Barton ACT 2600
Cost:       member price $70

Named in honour of Walter Burley Griffin and Marion Mahony, the Griffin Lecture aims to address the big issues in architecture and design and examines national matters of interest in the built environment. Since its first delivery in Canberra in 1961, this public lecture has been presented by eminent individuals including Gough Whitlam, John Gorton, Roy Grounds, Manning Clarke, Clover Moore and Philip Adams.

The Griffin Lecture is organised by the ACT Chapter with the generous support of:


Wednesdays 5-26 September, 6pm
James Fairfax Theatre, National Gallery of Australia 

Wednesday 5 September: Shaun Carter from Carter Williamson Architects
Wednesday 12 September: David Welsh and Chris Major from Welsh + Major
Wednesday 19 September: Dillon Kombumerri, Principal Architect, Office of the Government Architect NSW
Wednesday 26 September: Richard Hassell from WOHA Singapore

Single and Series tickets for the four lectures are on sale now. Don't miss out! 
More info and bookings are online at

Image: Park Royal on Pickering, WOHO, photo Patrick Binghma-Hall

This event is brought to you by the ACT Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects, The National Gallery of Australia and proudly sponsored by BCA Certifiers.



Our ever popular Solar House Day is on again!
Don't miss out! Book your tickets today...

Be part of a "speed dating session" where you can have a 5 minute conversation with an architect about your house and/or sustainable design

Topic: 'The future of housing in Canberra: What does it look like?"

Lecture presented by Catherine Townsend (ACT Government Architect)and Antonio Mozqueira (Manager Climate Change at ACT Government) followed by a panel discussion MC’d by Andrew Verri.

Panel participants: Shannon Battisson (AIA), Catherine Townsend (ACT Government Architect), Antonio Mozqueira (Manager Climate Change at ACT Government), Glen Dowse (DNAA, HIA President)

SOLAR HOUSE DAY BUS TOURS - Sunday 29 July and Sunday 5 August

Want to visit some of our region's best climate responsive homes?

Please note: Solar House Day is an annual event. If you missed out on this year's Solar House Day events or would like to attend again please email and we can add you to our mailing list for next year. 




*Please note this event is now booked out! 

School Holiday Program
Monday 9th and Tuesday 10th July 2018

Step into the shoes of an architect for 2 days …….

The ACT Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects, in collaboration with the Faculty of Arts and Design at the University of Canberra, are offering a 2 day design workshop. University of Canberra architecture students will guide you through the various steps architects take developing a brief, exploring designs, preparing drawings and making a model for your very own dream house.

You can choose whoever you want to design for - yourself, a friend, someone who’s famous, a superhero(ine), a pet or an imaginary character. You will need to think about what their needs and wants are for the house they will live in. You also get to decide the site where the house will be located. It can be an imaginary place like a tropical island, up in the mountains or even on the moon, or you can locate it somewhere real like your house site.

At the end of the workshop, you get to take your Dream House drawings and model home to share with your family.

We are pleased to announce after a successful 2017 program, that the ACT Chapter Mentoring Program is back for 2018

Mentoring complements training at university and experience in the workplace, offering perspective on the broader industry and a greater understanding of the culture in which architecture takes place. The program pairs architects at different points in their career to provide support, guidance, and a setting in which to cultivate ideas and aspirations. Feedback shows that mentors often gain as much insight from the process as the mentee, and we encourage participation from a range of backgrounds and positions. Mentoring is an rewording process valuable at any stage in your career. 

The program will begin on 19 March and we are now accepting applications for both mentors and mentees. The program is open to graduates of the Master of Architecture program or Architects, all of whom must be current members of the Australian Institute of Architects.

Applications close COB Wednesday 4 April 2017. For further information on the benefits of the program, please contact the ACT Chapter

Links below: 
Information pack
Mentor application
Mentee application

2018 ACT Architecture Awards - Exhibition of Entries
March - June

All exhibition boards of this year's entries are on display at the ACT Chapter until awards night on 23 June. This exhibition features some of the best new architecture in the ACT. Come along and view the entries before winners are announced. 



The 2017 Griffin Lecture with George Megalogenis, journalist, political commentator and author was an absolute success!

To read a transcript of the 2017 Griffin Lecture, please click HERE

Named in honour of Walter Burley Griffin and Marion Mahony.

The aim of the lecture is to address big issues in architecture and design; to examine national matters of interest in the built environment. The lecture is delivered by individuals of the time - commentators, politicians and the profession. Previous speakers include Gough Whitlam, John Gorton, architects Roy Grounds and Romaldo Giurgola, Manning Clarke, Lucy Turnbull and Clover Moore. It is a public lecture at National Press Club.

Journalist, political commentator and author, George Megalogenis delivered the 2017 Griffin Lecture for the Australian Institute of Architects. His lecture made the case for a big Australia without a big Sydney and Melbourne, and explain why decentralisation is our number one policy challenge for the 21st century.