Gallery House, Philip Leeson Architects
photo Ben Wrigley

What's on 

in the ACT

  • 11 Dec 2017 - ACT Awards Entries Open
  • 2 Mar 2018 - Awards Entries Close



2018 ACT Architecture Awards Jury Members

 Chair      Rob Henry RAIA
 Interstate Juror      Kerstin Thompson LFRAIA
 Juror      Joanna Nelson FRAIA
 Juror      Alastair MacCallum FRAIA
 Juror      Yuri Leong RAIA
 Lay Juror      Rachael Coghlan, CEO at Craft ACT


Rob Henry, RAIA

Rob Henry is the immediate-past ACT Chapter President of the Australian Institute of Architects and the immediate-past National President of the Emerging Architects and Graduates Network. He was a member of the inaugural National Gender Equity committee and the National Education committee.

Rob has been a passionate leader and a strong advocator for high quality design outcomes. His work with the Design Canberra Festival over the last four years, including the organisation of numerous building tours, open houses, and public speaker forums, has generated a greater understanding of the value of design by the local community. His advocacy work with local government has lead to the review of housing affordability and the development of demonstration projects.

Rob's dedication to education is evident in his ongoing involvement at the University of Canberra as a guest lecturer and tutor in design and sustainability.

Rob has a small residential architecture practice based in the ACT. His work has been awarded at the ACT Chapter Architecture Awards, including a 2016 Award for the Clerestory House addition, and the 2015 Malcolm Moir and Heather Sutherland Award for the Box House. Rob was awarded the 2014 ACT Emerging Architect of the Year Prize. Rob was the runner-up of the 2014 NEAT Housing competition for his entry “subMERGED”.

Kerstin Thompson, LFRAIA

Kerstin Thompson is principal of Kerstin Thompson Architects (KTA), Professor of Design in Architecture at Victoria University Wellington and Adjunct Professor of Architecture at RMIT & Monash Universities. Founded in 1994, KTA has established itself as an innovative reference point in Australian architecture and urban design. The focus of the practice is on the role of architecture as civic endeavor with an emphasis on the user’s experience and enjoyment of place. Current significant projects include; Victorian College of the Arts former mounted police stables for The University of Melbourne; Arthur and Yvonne Boyd Riversdale creative learning centre, accommodation and gallery for Bundanon Trust; and 100 Queen Street, Melbourne tower redevelopment for GPT Group.

Kerstin maintains close links to schools of architecture in Australia and overseas and promotes quality design within the profession and wider community through her role as member of the OVGA’s Design Review Panel. In recognition of the work of her practice, contribution to the profession and its education Kerstin was elevated to Life Fellow by the Institute in 2017.

Joanna Nelson, FRAIA

Joanna Nelson established her practice in Melbourne in 1987 and has since completed a wide range of residential projects in Melbourne, Canberra and New South Wales.

Her practice is dedicated to the inventive and rigorous exploration of the architectural potential of each project. In 2005 she left private practice in Melbourne and worked as Senior Architect at the National Capital Authority in Canberra, returning to private practice in 2010. Her residential projects have won numerous AIA awards and been included in a range of publications.

Yuri Leong Maish, RAIA

Yuri Leong Maish completed her Bachelor degrees in Design and Architecture from the University of Sydney.  Yuri spent several years of her experience working in the high end residential sector in inner Sydney, working closely with carpenters and joiners to achieve detailed and considered interventions to difficult spaces.  She moved to Canberra in 2009 to join the team at May + Russell Architects where she has since worked on key projects in Education, Health, Commercial and other unique projects such as the National Archives Preservation Facility.

Yuri is the 2015 recipient of the ACT Emerging Architects Prize and the 2014 winner of the Mervyn Willoughby-Thomas Prize.  She is currently in her second term as an ACT Chapter Councillor and has been a member of the Emerging Architects and Graduates Network and Sustainability Committees, with a key role in facilitating design workshops and the Solar House Bus Tours.  She is a sessional tutor at the University of Canberra and a lecturer in the Practice of Architecture Learning Series.

Rachael Coghlan (Lay Juror)

Rachael Coghlan is CEO and Artistic Director of Craft ACT: Craft + Design Centre, one of Australia’s leading creative centres for the development of visual art, craft and design. Rachael leads an active program of exhibitions, residencies, fundraising, governance, cross-disciplinary collaborations, artist development and the high-profile DESIGN Canberra festival which attracted a record 94,000 people in 2017. In October 2017, Rachael submitted her PhD thesis for examination entitled Imagined Conversations: The powerful (and power-shifting) potential of museum participation. For nearly 20 years, Rachael worked in senior positions in national cultural institutions in Australia’s museum sector, leading the full continuum of visitor engagement from audience development, visitor research, exhibitions and events, to digital and external communications. She brings to her roles a vibrant national and international network of museum practitioners, creative thinkers, designer makers and experimental researchers. 

Alastair MacCallum, FRAIA

Alastair MacCallum is Principal and Design Director of AMC Architecture (AMC). AMC is a leading architectural practice delivering a broad range and scale of projects for government,  institutional and private sector clients primarily in Canberra and regional NSW but also across Australia and overseas. Alastair is a UNSW Honours graduate and moved to Canberra in 1991 to pursue employment opportunities, ultimately making the City his home.  Alastair’s experience has been diverse, working in small architectural practices, a design and construct building company and as the Canberra Manager of Woods Bagot before establishing AMC with David Cook in 2000. Alastair has served on the AIA ACT Chapter Council since 2010 where he strives to bring a broader perspective to the architecture profession through his involvement with, and knowledge of the development and construction industry as a Division Council Member in the ACT Division of the Property Council of Australia.  In recent years he has instigated the AIA ACT Architecture Professional of the Year Award to better recognise individuals that contribute to the profession through exemplary technical, documentation or project management skills. With the architectural profession increasingly marginalised by new forms of contracting, it is hoped that this award will help promote the profession to a wider audience including the value of full documentation and superintendency services as keys to achieving buildings that are exemplars. Alastair is also increasingly involved with, and supportive of the UC Faculty of Arts and Design as a valued education provider.

AMC is a thriving practice with current significant projects including Denman Prospect Mixed-Use Local Centre for Canberra Airport Group, Moran Health Cluster - University of Canberra, Goodwin Farrer redevelopment, Australian Cyber Security Fitout - Brindabella Business Park and the Mantra MacCarthur Hotel (adaptive reuse) - 219 Northbourne Avenue Turner for HTI. AMC’s broad project base has been recognised over the years by numerous industry awards from the AIA, PCA and MBA.