Garagistes - Paul Johnston Architects

Garagistes,
Paul Johnston Architects, Photo: Luke Burgess

What's on

Around the country

NSS5: ArchiTECHNOLOGY
September 2017

Tasmanian Council & committees

This page has information on Tasmanian Chapter Council, committees, forums, office holders and fellows. For information on council or committee business, please contact the Tasmanian Chapter office.

Chapter Council

The Institute's business in Tasmania is managed by the Tasmanian Chapter Council. The Chapter President is the National Councillor elected by the Tasmanian members.

Chapter Council members
Members of the Chapter Council for 2017 are:  
Yvette Breytenbach
President
 

yvette@jmybarchitects.com.au

Brad Wheeler
Immediate Past President

wheelerfamily@netspace.net.au

Andrew Williamson andrew@idwarchitecture.com.au
Sophie Bence sophie@bencemulcahy.com.au
Daniel Lane daniel@prestonlane.com.au
Peta Heffernan peta@liminalarchitecture.com.au
Simone James simone@artas.com.au
Shane Cox shanec@bpsm.com.au
Richard Crawford richard@architectsdesignhaus.com
Ceridwen Owen ceridwen.owen@utas.edu.au
 Cath Hall  cath@1plus2architecture.com
 Carly McMahon  carly@liminalstudio.com.au
Jason Licht
EmAGN rep (EAT)
 jason@cumulus-studio.net
Sebastian McCormack
Student rep (SONA)
 

Committees & forums

The Tasmanian Chapter has a number of committees which organise activities such as assisting the Tasmanian State Architecture Awards through to writings citations for significant 20th century buildings and meeting with the Minister on matters of policy. Click on 2015 committee members to see the full list.

Significant Architecture Committee

Chaired by Paul Johnson, this group seeks to promote significant Tasmanian buildings from every era to the National Estate Register. This is done in collaboration with the Department of Urban Design at the University of Tasmania.

Continuing Professional Development Committee

The Tasmanian CPD Committee is chaired by Tram Tran. It considers issues around policy relating to CPD, reviews policy and makes recommendations. The committee is also concerned with the development and review of CPD events held in the Tasmanian Chapter.

Education Committee

Chaired by Stephen Loo the Education Committee considers issues relating to architectural education. A central function of this committee is to coordinate the Interim Review Panel that under take the accreditation process of the UTAS School of Architecture and Design programs the Masters of Architecture and the Bachelor of Environmental Design.

Practice Committee

Shane Cox chairs the Tasmanian Practice Committee which considers matters relating to the practice of architecture, particularly in Tasmania. Further, the Practice Committee develops and recommends CPD sessions for members related to practice issues.

Sustainability Committee

Placing sustainability at the core of architects’ practices and professional responsibilities is the agenda of the Sustainability Committee chaired by Detlev Geard. The committee does research and develops policies, regulations, practices, products, curricula, services, standards, contracts and other mechanisms that will facilitate the implementation of sustainability.

EmAGN Committee

Chaired by Sam McQueeney, the Emerging Architects Committee provides networking opportunities for emerging architects in Tasmania and hosts regular architecture events.

Tasmanian Architecture Awards Working Group

The Tasmanian Architecture Awards Working Group oversees the administration of the annual architecture awards, including the production of the awards exhibition and presentation dinner.

Public Affairs Working Group

The Public Affairs Working Group provides advice on the Institute's position about issues affecting and involving architects in the media.

Open House Hobart Working Group

The Open House Hobart Working Group oversees the organisation, administration and delivery of the public architecture event Open House Hobart and associated activities.

Online nomination & voting

At the appropriate time members may nominate and, if a ballot is necessary, vote for:

  • Chapter Council
  • Chapter President
  • Nationally Elected Council Members
  • International Area Committee Members

Only eligible members may participate.

The Australian Institute of Architects' Online Nomination and Voting Service complies with the Institute's regulations for elections.

For support and assistance using this system please contact the Executive Support Team on national@architecture.com.au or (02) 6121 2000.

Go to the online voting system.